Tucker and chicken class – #2

Tucker checking out the chickens at the pond

Tucker checking out the chickens at the pond

Tucker seems to be getting the hang of the chicken thing. Here’s a video I took on his fourth day in with the poultry: Tucker: Lesson 2 with chickens.

He’s curious about the chickens that go on the other side of the wall to get a drink from the little pond in their coop, and seems to think they should all be together. I like the way that he’s watching them, and is going up and sniffing them and checking them out. He’s also very low key the whole time. He’s thinking about it, and perhaps what Mom wants him to do.

Tucker at my feet

Tucker at my feet

One thing he does that I have to work with is that when I’m in the coop with him, he comes and sits/leans on my feet and legs. He still watches the birds while there, but I would like him to stay off of me, and focus a bit more on the chickens. I need to start putting myself out of the picture so to speak, and not always be in the coop with him, so he starts understanding that I want him to watch over the birds for me. I’ll stay close by so I can watch him and run interference if necessary until I feel he has the idea firmly in his mind.

When the weather gets a bit better, I’ll be letting them loose in the pasture, and will continue to work with him then. I’m looking forward to them being outside and able to free range again.

Tucker checking out the chickens

Tucker checking out the chickens

Leave a Reply

