A goat named Dawg

I am now the proud owner of a goat named Dawg as well as a goat named Inu. Inu being the  Japanese word for dog, so he fits in well with Dawg. They are both Nigerian Dwarf goats, about a year and a half old now. Cute little chubby guys, especially compared to my Saanen/Nubian cross boys. They came from the same place and are, I believe, brothers. I have added them to my crew of 4 other goats, along with another young goat who I will probably name Snickers. He is a dark chocolate and caramel color. I think he will be quite handsome when he grows up, as he’s just a baby now.

Interesting watching the herd dynamics.  Right now I would swear my herd are racists. The Saanen/Nubian cross and the Alpine/Nubian cross hang out together, although the little guy is picked on by the bigger boys, and the two Nigerians hang out together away from the others, most of the time, when I have them out. Dawg seems to be the leader of the two, and littler Inu follows him around. Dawg also protects him, not that there is much pushing and shoving, but when he thinks there is a reason to protect him, he stands up to the job. I hope they learn to get along as a goat family in time.

I haven’t had the chance, or the know how to be honest, to be able to put up my goat “proof” fence, so there are a lot of holes in the current fence that a goat can easily waltz through. For the most part, there is plenty of tall plants that the goats can browse, so my crew don’t seem to be interested yet in leaving. Yesterday I left them out all day, as I don’t like leaving them in the pen for that long. The guys living in the other house said sure, they would be more than happy to keep an eye on them for me while I’m at work. When I returned home, they were all still busily nibbling away, so I went in the house to get something to eat. I had let the dogs out and had seen Chance and Colt heading towards the goats, but didn’t think anything of it. A few minutes later I heard some distressed goat baaaaing. Thinking that one of the goats was being attacked by the dogs or was stuck, I dropped my pizza slice and ran out the door. One of the guys from next door was just starting to call for me and as I ran around my truck, I saw my two Nigerians had escaped and were running around loose in the driveway. Whew! Ok, nothing too bad, just have to wrangle the little guys and get them back into the fenced area. While Neil made sure they didn’t go any further out the driveway, the dogs and I attempted to herd them back towards the pasture. After a half a minute or so of that, I saw it wasn’t going to work, so I got down on my hands and knees and talked to the boys. They both let me pet them, so I slipped Tucker’s collar off and slid it onto Dawg. Dawg didn’t want to follow me, so I picked him up to carry him to the pasture.  Ugh! He weighs a ton! I am proud to say that I got him about half way before having to put him down. With Neil’s help, we did manage to get the duo back into the pasture. The other goats came a runnin’, so I said ok kids, all of you back into your pen. You’ve been out all day, so you can rest now. Yup, definitely need to fix the fence!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Save

Leave a Reply

