One more new goat!

p1190024A few weeks ago I posted on one of the local agriculture Facebook groups that I belong to that I was looking for some goats, preferably wethers. A young gentleman contacted me and said he had two doelings available. In our conversations, I found out that he is a hard working young man who is buying and selling goats so that he can participate on his school football team. Although I wanted to help him out, wasn’t comfortable with bringing in two young girls with a bunch of boys, so I told him I had better pass this time. Later on in the week, he contacted me again to let me know that he had a wether available. I asked for a few pictures and recognized the goat as one that I was going to purchase from another lady.  When I told her I couldn’t make it on the day that I had originally planned on, and for her to give me a call, she never contacted me, but instead, sold him to this young gentleman. Ah well, some people….but since I had originally planned on purchasing him anyway, I let the fellow know that I would come down and pick him up this weekend.

As he didn’t come with a name, I have decided to call him Gideon. I don’t expect him to really live up to his name, but as it is rumored that he came from a neglectful and abusive home, I think he would like a strong name. He is still a very young goat, and I have no idea what his breed is,  but he’s a good looking goat, and he’s a goat, so he’ll suit my plans just fine. He let me approach him and pet him, he even nibbled some treats out of my hand, so I think he will be easy to work with once he gets to know me. I just hope the rest of the pack doesn’t pick on him too much. I am hoping that maybe he and the other lone goat, Snickers,  will buddy up and hang out together. I did see him handle himself very well with the Nigerians who tried to boss him around, although Dawg did manage to get some good hits in. Time will tell.

I have discovered that my goats are a bit racist. While they seem to put up with each other, the four original boys, the Saanen/Nubian crosses, prefer not to hang out with the Nigerians, and the Nigerians, in turn, are very independent from the four white boys. I am sure it is in part that each group was raised together, and the Nigerians are older, being about a year and a half old. Little Snickers, the chocolate and light caramel boy kinda hangs out on the fringes. They are getting better with each other, so I am hoping that in time, they will at least get along well enough to do the job they are hired for. Unfortunately, at this time, if I let the whole herd out together to graze, the Nigerians prefer to stay away from the others and look for ways to escape. I can’t really have that, so I am working on training them to come when I say “goat” by offering them some goat treats every time they come to me when I say “goat.” Will see how that works out!

Here is a video of the crew…As well as some pictures of the group hanging out in their outdoor pen.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

